Tapas on a Truck!

The DC food truck scene is quite colorful with a huge selection. However, unfortunately, it doesn’t extend out as far as Reston in Northern Virginia where I work. So I’m mostly missing out on the deliciously unique foods my friends who live or work in DC keep raving about.

On a Thursday afternoon when visiting a friend in Rosslyn when I was on leave from work, I begged him to take me to a good food truck so I could sample the goodness I had been missing. My friend took me to N Lynn Street where around five or six different kinds of food trucks were visible with people lined up in front of them waiting to order food.

There was also an open area on Wilson Boulevard with a good number of chairs and tables, apparently put there by the city so food truck lovers can enjoy their bought meals under the sun.

It was just my luck that Tapas truck was there that day. My friend had been raving about their garlic fries so I decided to give them a try.

truck

I liked the way the truck was painted, it looked tasteful. There was a menu posted on the side, which apparently keeps changing seasonally. It took a while for our turn to come as the line was rather long. I studied the menu meanwhile.

The menu contained 5 tapas of which we could either buy one at the listed price, buy two for $8 or three for $10. I opted for three tapas and ordered the garlic fries, corn fritters and crab empanadas. Three tapas for $10 in Rosslyn are not too shabby in my opinion.

We walked over to the seating area on Wilson Boulevard to enjoy our food and enjoy we did. It was a great, sunny afternoon with a gentle breeze blowing. Gentle enough to not cause our napkins to fly away.

fries

Garlic fries

The food was served in a Styrofoam container with three sections. I tried the garlic fries first and the first words out of my mouth when I could speak were “Oh my God”. Did I mention I love garlic? Although a bit extra salty, but they were crunchy and had plenty of garlic flavor to satisfy my taste buds. I don’t think I’ve ever tasted such delicious fries anywhere.

Corn Fritters

Corn fritters

After savoring the first few bites, I decided to save the most of the goodness for last and started digging into the crab empanadas which were good. The corn fritters on the other hand were a big surprise. A bit on the sweet side, they were delicious. I had to go back to finishing off my fries so I could eat the fritters last.

The food was very filling and although I managed to finish all of it, I doubt I will order three tapas when I visit this food truck again. For lunch, two are probably enough. Or I’ll take some of it home for dinner. In any case, the food was really good and I consider my $10 well spent.

Price: $5 – $10

Location: Varies

Leave a Reply

